Behind the Scenes – Photo Shoot with Amy Tierney

Hello everyone.

On December 19th I worked with my long-time collaborator and stylist friend Rebecca Anderson to get some new images for our portfolios, while having the wonderful experience of dressing our models (Jennifer Akerman, and Hollie Van Dyke, both from Models International www.mi-agency.com, big thanks to Tia Talbott over there!) in Maxine Dillon’s (www.maxinedillon.com) Spring 2010 line.

We knew we wanted to work with light and color that would exude upbeat, spring colors while keeping with Maxine’s love of the East Coast, USA (not to mention electric blue) and my continuing love affair with the West Coast (meaning nothing too staged, let the models move !).  It was Rebecca’s idea to utilize projections and it was up to me to bring in secondary light sources for any other images I wanted to create. Our make-up artist was Robert Constant (www.iamconstant.com/) who, when we told him of our plans to project spring flowers and backdrops of green suggested we go to Los Angeles Botanical Gardens to shoot, and we are very happy that’s where we were lead.   Robert really brought his talent on shoot day (as well) to make Jennifer and Hollie shine. Our hair stylist was Mariko Sakata (makeupbymariko.com), who really understood our vision, and not only could collaborate well but meet my deadlines to get models in and out of the chairs on time, as did Robert, which is always terribly appreciated !

I’ll be putting up retouched stills a little later … HOWEVER, IN THE MEANTIME: here’s a behind the scenes video I cut together, below, (thanks to 1st assistant Amanda Abraham for capturing the video on my Canon SX100 which we kept low res, grainy, to show the difference between the Canon 5D Mark II velvety looking digital files I captured).

Speaking of capture, this was my first shoot with the latest SanDisk (www.sandisk.com) Extreme Pro compact flash cards. In late 2009 SanDisk made me a member of it’s SanDisk Extreme Team (here’s a link on that: www.facebook.com/sandiskextremeteam). Specifically I used the SanDisk Extreme Pro 16GB 90MB/s compact flash cards which retail for a fantastic value of $335.99.  I’ve used SanDisk for five years now and made the switch precisely because everything I read about SanDisk cards, not to mention great word of mouth from my other pro friends who consistently spoke about how fast SanDisk was processing their largest files (not to mention off-loading on their computers). Five years later, and SanDisk is still delivering that same quality for me – and this shoot of capturing maximum 21mb RAW file after RAW file on my Canon 5D Mark II put the cards to the test, allowing me to keep up with my burst rate with fluid efficiency.   Thank you SanDisk !

Now, here’s the behind the scenes video:

Leave a comment